Scroll Top

Electronic Visa on Arrival Introduced in Indonesia

Electronic Visa on Arrival (e-VOA) allows travelers to obtain their visa before arrival in Indonesia

Implementation of Evisa on arrival (EVOA)

By introducing the electronic Visa on Arrival (e-VOA), the Indonesian government continues to transform its immigration services. Foreigners can now apply for the visa on arrival electronically through the web portal before they enter Indonesia. With a regular VOA, foreigners can purchase their visa at the VOA counter at the airport, which is often inconvenient due to long queue lines. The electronic Visa on Arrival (e-VOA) allows foreigners to skip these queue lines and proceed directly to the immigration checkpoints.

Purpose of Visit and duration of e-VOA

The electronic Visa on Arrival (eVOA) is a single-entry visit visa. It allows foreigners to travel to Indonesia for the following purposes:

  1. tourism,
  2. government visits,
  3. business meeting,
  4. purchasing of goods, or
  5. transit only  

Once the e-visa is issued by immigration, foreigners will have 90 days to enter Indonesia. After 90 days the visa automatically expires and foreigners can no longer use the visa for entry. Once foreigners arrive in Indonesia, they must show the e-VOA to the immigration officials at the immigration checkpoint. With the visa, foreigners can stay for an initial period of 30 days in Indonesia. They can extend their visa once, for another period of 30 days at the local immigration office.


As of now, passport holders of the following 86 following countries are eligible to apply for an e-VOA: 

Albania Andorra Argentina Australia
Austria Bahrain Belarus Belgium
Bosnia Herzegovina Brazil Brunei Darussalam Bulgaria
Cambodia Canada Chile China
Colombia Croatia Cyprus Czech
Denmark Ecuador Egypt Estonia
Finland France Germany Greece
Hong Kong Hungary Iceland India
Ireland Italy Japan Jordan
Kuwait Laos Latvia Liechtenstein
Lithuania Luxembourg Malaysia Maldives
Malta Mexico Monaco Morocco  
Myanmar Netherland New Zealand Norway
Oman Palestine Peru Philippines
Poland Portugal Republic of Korea Qatar
Romania Russia San Marino Saudi Arabia
Serbia Seychelles Singapore Slovakia
Slovenia South Africa Spain Suriname
Sweden Switzerland Taiwan Thailand
Timor Leste Tunisia Turkiye Ukraine
United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States of America Uzbekistan
Vatican Vietnam    

Application procedure E-Visa on Arrival

Before submitting the e-VOA application, foreigners must ensure that they register and activate an account on Similar to the standard Visa on Arrival, applicants must hold a passport with a minimum validity 6 months before the date of arrival. The payment of the e-VOA, amounting IDR 500,000, must be performed during te application process, using a Visa, Mastercard or JCB credit card. Upon successful submission of the application, immigration officers will verify the data and either grant or reject the application. If granted, the applicant will receive a notification on their registered email.

While filling for the e-VOA application, please ensure that data entered during the application is identical to the information on the passport. Once the e-VOA is issued, the information can no longer be amended. Foreigners are not advised to enter Indonesia using an e-VOA which is stating incorrect data.

E-VOA selected ports of entry

The Indonesian government allows foreigners to arrive with an eVOA at the following airports:

  1. Soekarno Hatta, Jakarta
  2. Halim Perdana Kusuma, Jakarta
  3. Ngurah Rai, Bali
  4. Hang Nadim, Riau Island
  5. Sultan Syarif Kasim II, Pekanbaru
  6. Juanda, East Java
  7. Kertajati, West Java
  8. Kualanamu, North Sumatera
  9. Minangkabau, West Sumatera
  10. Sam Ratulangi, North Sulawesi
  11. Sentani, Papua
  12. Sultan Aji Muhammad Sulaiman, East Kalimantan
  13. Sultan Hasanuddin, South Sulawesi
  14. Sultan Iskandar Muda, Aceh
  15. Yogyakarta, Special Region of Yogyakarta
  16. Zainuddin Abdul Madjid, West Nusa Tenggara.

In addition, the Indonesian government allows foreigners to enter using e-VOA through 114 seaports.

Since the electronic Visa on Arrival is a new service, it is likely that there will be further amendments to the existing policy. Please feel free to contact our firm in case you have any enquiry the e-VOA or any other immigration matters.